Does Rice Have Gluten?

As more and more people are diagnosed with a gluten intolerance or allergy, questions about safe and unsafe foods abound. It’s important to know what’s appropriate for your gluten-free friends, and rice is one of the most asked about foods.

Fortunately, all rice in its natural form is gluten-free. This includes:

Rice is actually the most popular gluten-free grain because it works as an excellent stand-in for other grains. However, wheat, barley, and rye are not gluten-free and should be avoided if your diet requires it.

When Rice is NOT Gluten-Free

While rice is considered gluten-free overall, there are certain instances in which it is not. This primarily occurs in the event of cross-contact. Cross-contact refers to when rice comes in contact with wheat, barley, or rye during the growing, harvesting, or manufacturing process. You can avoid this by only purchasing rice that is labeled and certified as gluten-free. Additionally, you should avoid purchasing rice from bulk bins at a grocery store, since cross-contamination may happen accidentally as shoppers dip into the bins. 

Other Tips for Purchasing Rice

Rice pilaf may sound gluten-free, but it’s actually not. It contains orzo which has a considerable amount of gluten. And if you order rice at a restaurant, make sure that you ask about the type of rice as well as any added ingredients. You’ll also want to ensure that the rice is cooked separately from other foods sources, to ensure that it does not come into contact with gluten.

Delicious Rice Recipes

If you’re committed to a gluten-free diet, make sure to have a few delicious rice recipes on hand. Here are a few to spark inspiration and help you maintain your dietary goals:

Of course, these are just a couple, and there are hundreds of options to choose from! Just always remember to ensure that the rice you use is gluten-free. 

Making Healthy Decisions

Rice is the perfect choice if you want to enjoy a grain recipe without the gluten. In fact, rice can easily be used as a substitute for wheat-infused recipes, whether you’re gluten-intolerant or not!  Note, though, that if you or a loved one still experiences symptoms of gluten intolerance after consuming rice, you may need to double check the ingredients or the way in which the food was prepared. Keeping a food journal is a simple way to help you identify the culprit. Taking extra precautions when preparing a gluten-free meal is probably second nature to those who live gluten-free every day, and rice should be no exception to this rigor. Although it is often safe to eat, always ensure it’s in natural form before using. 

Check out more of Honeyville’s gluten free products